When Someone You Love Passes

When someone you love passes away, the responses you get from friends, family, and strangers can range from completely comforting… To absolutely uncalled for… To downright unexpected and much needed.

This week, my father passed away. In such a situation you expect the “I’m sorry” or “with sympathy” comments… You expect condolences from some people… But it’s the people who send you the unexpected heartfelt message, Or a message that is completely off the wall… That can sometimes be the most helpful in your grief process.

Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate all of the condolences… Well almost…

Some people should take heed… Sometimes when you just don’t know what to say… You should just not speak at all… Or give a call and be honest by saying, “I don’t know what to say.” None of us know what to say… Because if we did, we would just say it. Instead, share a story, share a cry, just offer a listening ear.

Today we will celebrate Dad’s life. It will be a hard day. A friend very unexpectedly sent me a message this morning that will be in my mind all day.

She said…
I hope everything your way is as stress free as possible today. You have every right to cunt punt anyone that isn’t overly loving, sincere and helpful.

Best. Advice. Ever.

About MommaBish

I was recently promoted from “human incubator” to Mom. So far, this has been one hell of a ride and my friends and family have encouraged me to document the ridiculous tales I live to tell. Beginning in my first trimester, I felt thy everyone had lied to me. Well, not so much lied, as omitted a whole lot of necessary information. This holds true. From the feelings of inadequacy you experience as a new mom (you can thank the effing hormones), to the adrenaline rush you get from being shot with poop during a 2am diaper change.. I’m going to share it all. My hope is that we will laugh together, maybe cry together… But ultimately… Just be REAL.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

